h1

01/10/2011 @ JCube Card Master

October 2, 2011

It was tiring to play two tournaments in two days.

Deck used: T.G. Agent

Swiss 1: OXO (Time out)
VS. T.G. Agent

Swiss 2: XOO (Time out)
VS. X-Saber

Swiss 3: OO
VS. Chaos Plant

Swiss 4: OXO
VS. Diva Ragia

Swiss 5: OXO
VS. Meta Beat

Quarter final: OXO
VS. Junk Doppel

Semi final: XOX
VS. Junk Doppel

3rd/4th: XOX
VS. Agent Fairy

Result: 4th

Monster: 24
1x Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning
1x Gorz the Emissary of Darkness
1x Tragoedia
3x Master Hyperion
3x The Agent of Creation – Venus
3x The Agent of Mystery – Earth
3x Mystical Shine Ball
1x Honest
1x Sangan
3x T.G. Striker
2x T.G. Warwolf
1x T.G. Rhino
1x Herald of Orange Light

Spell: 12
3x Pot of Duality
1x Heavy Storm
1x Dark Hole
1x Monster Reborn
2x MST
1x Book of Moon
2x Creature Swap
1x Mind Control

Trap: 4
1x Trap Dustshoot
1x Torrential Tribute
2x Bottomless Trap Hole

Extra: 15
2x Gachi Gachi Gantetsu
1x Daigusto Phoenix
1x No. 17: Leviathan Dragon
1x Leviair the Sea Dragon
1x Arms Aid
1x A.O.J. Catastor
1x T.G. Wonder Magician
1x T.G. Hyper Librarian
1x Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier
1x Naturia Balkion
1x Black Rose Dragon
1x Ancient Sacred Wyvern
1x Scrap Dragon
1x Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier

The ratio of my T.G. Monsters is less common. Usually, there are 3x T.G. Striker and 3x T.G. Warwolf, or 2x T.G. Striker and 3x T.G. Warwolf. Some prefer to play an additional 2x T.G. Rhino and opt for TG-EM1.

I feel that the utility of T.G. Warwolf is lower than T.G. Striker. T.G. Warwolf can mainly combo with Agent-Venus or T.G. Striker under normal circumstances. Usually, I prefer not to special summon T.G. Warwolf with Agent-Venus, because it can’t provide an otk and it is unnecessary to exceed with Agent-Venus. If I’ve T.G. Striker, T.G. Warwolf and Agent-Venus together, then I will summon T.G. Wonder Magician before I summon my Agent-Venus. As for T.G. Striker, it can link better with Agent-Venus, or even with Agent-Earth for a Gantetsu. I can special summon T.G. Striker and follow up with Creature Swap or Mind Control before I normal summon my monster. These explain why I chose to have 3x T.G. Striker and 2x T.G. Warwolf, but not the other way round.

T.G. Rhino is just my preference. It is useful against typical beat down deck, e.g. Black Feather and Hero Beat. Raiou is a big threat and T.G. Rhino can kill it. Of course, it goes into the argument whereby you can’t search it out when Raiou destroy a T.G. Striker or T.G. Warwolf. However, it still provides an option instead of just typical T.G. Striker or T.G. Warwolf in other situations. For example, in swiss 4, my opponent attacks my set T.G. Warwolf with Sabersaurus and I searched T.G. Rhino. His look: Σ(゚д゚lll)I had a Bottomless Trap Hole, just in case opponent summoned Jurrac Guaiba instead. T.G. Rhino can also be used to suicide with Agent-Venus when opponent has Gantetsu, then search for T.G. Striker. Special summon T.G. Striker and normal summon Agent-Venus on the next turn, then summon Trishula to remove Gantetsu. If opponent has Bottomless Trap Hole, it is very likely that he will use it on T.G. Rhino, so that he won’t lose out by one card. It is then safer to use Agent-Venus on the next turn. Personally, I’m not a fan of TG-EM1 because I find it hard to execute.

I prefer 2x Gantetsu to 2x Daigusto Phoenix. Normally, I will only use Daigusto when I can perform an otk, and I don’t need two to perform it. Some players summon Agent-Earth, then summon Agent-Venus on the next turn. (Assuming, there is no monster on opponent’s field) Then they special summon 3x Mystical Shine Ball, and exceed into 2x Daigusto Phoenix. 2x Daigusto Phoenix + 1x Agent-Venus = 7600. First of all, it runs into the risk of Gorz or Tragoedia. Secondly, opponent can deal with it next turn with just another monster that has a high enough attack. A Master Hyperion is needed to perform an otk on the second turn in this commonly seen scenario. However, when one has Master Hyperion for the otk, an Ancient Sacred Wvyern and a Daigusto Phoenix can do the job as well. Furthermore, it is more favorable if opponent has Gorz or Tragoedia. I didn’t lose in some games in this tournament because I had a second Gantetsu.

Talking about the typical Agent-Earth and search for Agent-Venus opening, below are two scenarios that happened in this tournament.

In the second duel of swiss 1, opponent started first and did this opening. I summoned Agent-Venus which was welcomed by a Solemn Warning. I had a Dark Hole, should I play it? Like I had said, with that Agent-Earth on the field and an Agent-Venus on hand, it is very possible that opponent can otk me next turn. The requirement is that he needed to have a Master Hyperion. So I took the gamble and did not use Dark Hole, and I was killed by 2x Daigusto, Agent-Venus and Master Hyperion. If I didn’t want to take the risk and used Dark Hole, I will just lose to the tempo of Agent-Venus next turn.

In the third duel of quarter final, I did this opening and used a Bottomless Trap Hole on opponent’s Lyla. He chose to use Dark Hole. I indeed had a Master Hyperion, but the Dark Hole and Agent-Earth trade was rewarding and I won the game. It is a dilemma.

One of my opponent used Effect Veiler on my Agent-Venus when I attempted to summon my first Mystical Shine Ball. Obviously, he didn’t read my post. I had one of the Mystical Shine Ball in my hand, and I was able to used Agent-Venus’s effect again next turn to summon two from deck. Nice.

Troll name used: Maka Prime

2 comments

  1. you can still summon the ball in your hand with venus eff just so you know.. 😉


    • Everyone knows. It’s better to summon from deck.



Leave a Reply

