h1

Interview with World Champion 2010 (Pre WC2011)

August 11, 2011

I want to keep up the tradition of doing an interview with the last World Champion just before the next World Championship.

So here it is. An interview with Galileo De Obaldia  World Champion 2010 before World championship 2011.

Disclaimer: Interviewee’s opinion and view do not represent the opinion and view of ‘Duel like an idol’ or its writer.

Maxilicious:
Hello Galy, it has been a year since we had an interview. Let’s start with a self-introduction.

Galileo:
Hi Max. Yeah, it’s been a while! Well, for those who don´t know me, my name is Galileo De Obaldia, I’m 22 years old and I’m from Panamá!

Maxilicious:
Thanks for your time to do this interview as I know you’re busy at the moment. How’s your preparation for the World Championship 2011?

Galileo:
Not as well as I would like unfortunately. Things out of my control haven´t allowed me to play very often. However, I will be ready in time, and I´m going to do my best to defend my title!

Maxilicious:
I like your passion. Haha. Compared to last year, you’re entering this tournament as the World Champion, how does it feel?

Galileo:
Well, it really depends on you as a person. For me, the extra pressure of being the one to beat, motivates me to do better. I won´t lose to my nerves. However, the bad side is, you can get a little bit complacent. In the sense that, well, at least I won once. Which is not a good attitude to have at all! So really, it´s mixed feelings. I just hope to do as well as I can come next weekend.

Maxilicious:
Indeed, you’re the one to beat this year. As we all know, there was a change in the priority ruling in OCG, but not in TCG yet. There is no official news on this ruling for the upcoming World Championship, which ruling do you think will be adopted?

Galileo:
I’m not sure really. The idea of worlds is to find the perfect balance between TCG and OCG. Considering OCG used to have the priority ruling, while the TCG has never had it. I think the only fair thing would be to maintain the priority rulings for the tournament.

Maxilicious:
If the priority ruling maintains, do you think that the TCG players will have an edge over the OCG players?

Galileo:
Not at all. How long has the ruling changed in OCG?

Maxilicious:
It was changed on 19 March 2011. The difference may occur due the fact that OCG players have to prepare for the tournament differently with the assumption of the ruling is consistent with the TCG side. This may affect their card choice in testing and deck list submission.

Galileo:
Well, just to point out, it really doesn´t make that much difference! I really believe that.

Maxilicious:
Talking about deck choice, I’m not going to ask you what deck you are using. However, what decks are you expecting in the World Championship?

Galileo:
As for the decks, Doppel Plants, Six Samurai, Agents, Anti-Meta, T.Gs. Those are the ones I’m expecting, but won’t be surprised if something else does really well.

Maxilicious:
Doppel Plant and Six Samurai are the two main metagame decks in the current list. Do you think these two decks will be nerf in the September list?

Galileo:
Well, we already know Trishula is going to at least 1. I’d love to see Gateway and Librarian gone too. I really dislike impossible-to-come-back-from turn 1s. Which is what those cards most of the time represent.

Maxilicious:
I share the same sentiment. What other changes do you expect in the September list?

Galileo:
I’d like for Trunade to make a change with Heavy Storm. I think that will probably be healthy for the game (Although I hate Heavy Storm, it’s the lesser of two evils, while punishing less experienced players). I haven’t really thought much about this upcoming list, hopefully it’ll be a good one!

Maxilicious:
I hope so too. Especially when I’m gonna pick up the game again in September after a long break from it. Once again, thank you for your time. Do you’ve any words to your fans?

Galileo:
Thanks for all the support and kind words you´ve all given me. I’ll do my best in Amsterdam. Take care!

Maxilicious:
Good luck for your tournament!

Galileo:
Thanks Max!

Leave a Reply

