h1

My Black Feather Deck

February 14, 2011

Below is the build that I’m using towards the end of this ban list.

I wanted to change some of the cards but I didn’t bother since I’m flying off to Australia on Friday anyway.

Monster: 17

1x Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn
3x Blackwing – Shura the Blue Flame
3x Blackwing – Bora the Spear
3x Blackwing – Kalut the Moon Shadow
3x Blackwing – Blizzard the Far North
1x Blackwing – Gale the Whirlwind
1x Blackwing – Vayu the Emblem of Honor
1x Dark Armed Dragon
1x Spirit Reaper

Spells: 12

1x Monster Reborn
1x Allure of Darkness
1x Black Whirlwind
2x Mystical Space Typhoon
3x Pot of Duality
3x Book of Moon
1x Dark Hole

Traps: 11

1x Seven Tools of the Bandit
1x Mirror Force
1x Solemn Judgment
2x Solemn Warning
1x Torrential Tribute
1x Royal Oppression
1x Trap Dustshoot
3x Icarus Attack

Side Deck: 15

3x Kinetic Soldier
1x Snowman Eater
2x D.D. Crow
1x Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn
1x Puppet Plant
2x Dimension Prison
1x Seven Tools of the Bandit
2x Bottomless Trap Hole
1x Chain Disappearance
1x Gozen Match

Extra Deck: 15

1x Ally of Justice Catastor
1x Ally of Justice Decisive Arms
1x Blackwing Armed Wing
1x Blackwing Armor Master
1x Blackwing – Silverwind the Ascendant
1x Tech Genus Hyper Librarian
1x Colossal Fighter
1x Goyo Guardian
1x Scrap Dragon
1x Dark End Dragon
1x Stardust Dragon
1x Black Rose Dragon
1x Magical Android
1x Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier
1x Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier

The main deck is quite standard. The reason of only one Sirocco is because of the metagame, whereby it’s a bad draw against Six Samurai. It isn’t effective against Debris Dandy either. If you follow Japanese metagame, you’ll notice they main 2x 7-tool, this is mainly to help in the Six Samurai match up whereby it can help to negate Solemn Warning to break the Shien + Warning opening. On paper, it seems painful to play so many cards that require LP as cost, but it’s about drawing into them. I dropped a 7-tool for a Dark Hole to improve other match up like Angel, Debris Dandy and Lightlord.

I decide to have a second Sirocco in my side deck, which is my preference for mirror match. I side in, 2x Bottomless Traphole, 2x Dimension Prison, 1x 7-tool, 1x Snowman, 1x Sirocco for mirror match. Most Japanese players pick Greenkappa in mirror match, but I prefer to use Sirocco and Snowman instead. Since there’re 2x 7-tool, Snowman is better than Greenkappa.

Against Six Samurai, it’s about who starts first. For most decks, the key side cards against Six Samurai are Kinetic Soldier and Puppet Plant. I’ve tried different ratio between these 2, and I will stick to 3 Kinetic Soldier. I like to set it, because it won’t get ‘warning-ed’. The way to clear it is by Mizuho or Hand of Six Samurai, or synchro into a non-warrior monster. My traps will mainly focus on protecting it, while I try to break the Six Samurai down slowly. I tried 3x Puppet Plant and it didn’t work out since I can’t utilise the stolen monster effectively. Gozen match is dropped to one because of 3x Kinetic Soldier.

The extra deck is the same 15 you see everywhere. I used to play Mist Wurm before I’ve TG Librarian. TG Librarian is good against Debris Dandy, because the opponent has to synchro at least once in order to get rid of it most of the time.

I won’t be playing for the next ban list since I’ll be in University in Australia, which means I’ll miss Asia and World Championship.

Leave a Reply

