h1

Ruling on concession

December 24, 2010

After I had read about the Christmas tournament in Cardmaster on SG-YGO forum, I decided to dig on the rule for concession.

Concession: It just means conceding.

After some quick research, apparently there were debates regarding if you can concede and when you can concede in YuGiOh.

Before I begin, I will switch the focus back to the Christmas tournament.

Lucky Draw Prizes

1. Legendary Six Samurai – Kizan (25th Position) – Christmas Day
2. Promotion Pack (Red Pack) x1 + 1 Pack STOR (12th Position) – Christmas Month
3. Promotion Pack (Red Pack) x1 + 1 Pack STOR (10th Position) – Christmas Year

Note: Lucky draw prizes are determined by the standings after 4 rounds of Swiss pairings. In the case that there are less than 25 participants, the “Legendary Six Samurai – Kizan” will be given to the last placing participant. This is to encourage newer players to come join and not fear that they will walk away empty-handed.

Due to the ‘last place prize’, I presume there will be players who will just concede their way through the tournament, especially for those who know that they don’t stand a chance to win other prizes anymore. Imagine it’s the last round of swiss, and there’re players who have won 0 matches. They will want to concede before the game even begin. I wonder how is this going to be solved when that happens.

Anyway, back to the topic.

I checked up on the YuGiOh beginner’s guide, and there’s no mention regarding concession. It only states, how a player wins a duel.

Next, I found KDE Official TRADING CARD GAME Tournament Policy (In Effect as of July 7, 2010). Under section IV (J):

J. Concessions
A player may concede a game at any time, provided he or she has not been offered or has accepted anysort of compensation for doing so. Players who concede in exchange for cash, prizes, or other incentivesare guilty of Bribery and Collusion, which violate the Konami Penalty Guidelines.

A player may concede a game at any time. This is consistent with other reputable TCG, like Magic: The Gathering. On MTG Salvation wiki, it mentions that:

From the Comprehensive Rules:

  • 102.3a A player can concede the game at any time. A player who concedes loses the game immediately.

When it comes to conceding in YuGiOh, Victory Dragon must be mentioned!

This card cannot be Special Summoned. To Tribute Summon this card, you must Tribute 3 Dragon-Type monsters. If this card attacks your opponent directly and reduces their life points to 0, you win the match.

Just to clarify things, 3 duels (or maybe 2) make up a match.

Here comes the bug: when Player A attacks Player B directly with Victory Dragon which will reduce his LP to 0 and ultimately wins the match, Player B concedes before that happens. According to the above ruling under KDE, a player can concede at anytime. This effectively makes Victory Dragon looks silly. I know Victory Dragon is banned, and probably to prevent such conflict.

When Victory Dragon was released, there had been discussions on various forums regarding this loophole. Some called for a change in the rule, whereby players can’t concede on opponent’s turn. (e.g. pojo.com forum)

Someone (masterwoo0) pointed out an interesting point on tcgplayer.com forum:

Japanese Players view the game differently than American or most other TCG countries do. They duel to the end, and concede the game only with permission from their opponent, which means it would normally be a request that does not involve,“I’m about to lose to Victory Dragon and I don’t want that to happen!!!”

Japanese Player’s do not concede just to avoid losing to Victory Dragon. If it comes down to that, they take the Effect Match Loss, and that’s the way it goes.

He stated earlier on the same page that, it’s not that the players can’t concede in OCG, but it’s just that they don’t.

Interesting.

There is a page on YuGiOh Wikia, which explains the conflicts regarding this issue:

Surrendering refers to a player giving up or forfeiting a Duel to their opponent.

In the TCG a player can surrender the Duel at any time. The opponent must accept the surrender regardless of conditions (such as the opponent having a face-up “Victory Dragon”).

If a player forfeits the Duel (not the Match) when facing an opponent’s “Victory Dragon”, it is possible for the opponent to call the player on unsporting behavior. It is up to the Head Judge whether to then charge the player.

In the OCG, the opponent may surrender the Duel at anytime, but the opponent has the option to not accept the surrender. If the opponent does not accept the forfeit, you may then offer to forfeit the Match.

According to wikia, the ruling on concession is different for OCG and TCG.

In conclusion, I doubt there’s any logical reason to prevent your opponent from conceding under normal circumstances. Since Victory Dragon is banned, I don’t see any problem with a player being able to concede anytime, although I prefer the idea that it requires the acceptance of opponent. Of course, there’s a reason not to allow your opponent to concede in this Christmas’s tournament.

The above finding is not conclusive, and I do not know which is accurate. It’s just my tiny research. If you know the answer, please contribute by posting it in the comment below. Thank you.

This post actually brings back memory, which dates back around 8 years!? I still remember that there was a period whereby players form decks and compete to bring their own LP to 0. Some played cards which have to pay LP as cost. Some activated Scapegoat and use Creature Swap to give opponent his Panther Warrior, then suicide his goat tokens for 8000 LP.

It will be hilarious if players aren’t allow to concede in the Christmas tournament, and result in such unorthodox methods to win a Kizan.

P.S. I won’t join the tournament.

I’ve been updating (almost) daily! I love holiday~

Merry Christmas to my readers. =)


Written by

Advertisements

2 comments

  1. Very interesting post.

    There is also the matter of “scooping” that takes place somewhat often in the TCG. Just like it sounds, it involves a player scooping up their cards and shuffling them together for the next duel, usually when they know they are going to lose. It’s effectively like surrendering, and is treated by players as such, but technically isn’t the same.

    Changing the game state drastically like that would result in a game loss, which could be a way to get around a rule that would prevent a player from conceding. I’m not sure how this would work in the OCG, but I doubt that there would be a problem with it either way.


  2. Personally, I don’t like it when opponent just keep his cards (scoop) without declaring it properly. Imagine this: he attempts to keep his card, so I keep mine. Then he goes, why did you keep your cards? It’ll be me who lost the game instead, since I can’t rewind it. That’s why when opponent concedes, I always ask and confirm again.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: