h1

Exclusive interview with World Champion 2010

August 30, 2010

Finally, the much anticipated interview with World Champion 2010, Galileo De Obaldia, is up.

First of all, thanks Galy to take time to do the interview. (University life is busy!)

Also, thank you to my readers who posted the questions for our World champion. Not all of your questions are being asked because some are the same and I filter away some of the sensitive questions as well.

Before the interview is published, I also seek approval from Galy with the final draft of the interview through email. This is to ensure the content has been acknowledged and approved by the interviewee.

Disclaimer: Interviewee’s opinion and view do not represent the opinion and view of ‘Duel like an idol’ or its writers.

—————

Maxilicious:
Hi Galy, thanks for doing this interview with me. Let’s start with you introducing yourself.

Galileo:
Hi guys, my name is Galileo De Obaldia, I’m 21 years old, and I’m from Panama!

Maxilicious:
How long have you been playing YuGiOh?

Galileo:
Competitively or just all together?

Maxilicious:
How about both? =)

Galileo:
Ok. Competitively, it would be Battle City 1 in London, back in early 2007, all together, about a year before that I guess? I got into YuGiOh thanks to my younger brother!

Maxilicious:
Now i’m gonna ask the question that many wanted to ask. How does it feel when you won the last duel in the final?

Galileo:
I can’t really describe it. Vincent and I were both so nervous, when I finally won, I didn’t celebrate out of respect for Vincent, who is a really nice guy, and if I’m honest, the feeling of world champion didn’t really sink in until I talked to a special someone (NGA – you know who you are!) after everything had ended. Surreal is the only word I can use to describe the feeling, it felt like my body was there, but my mind was somewhere else. Truly an unbelievable experience. I felt very blessed.

Maxilicious:
That was thoughtful of not to celebrate, probably I won’t be able to hold back my emotion if I were in that position. Which was your most memorable match through out the tournament?

Galileo:
Either, round 1 vs Benjamin, the 2009 World Champion or semi-final vs Herald of Perfection. Benjamin, because we became close friends during our stay in Long Beach, and to play and beat the reigning world champion round 1, gave me the confidence to then move forward and do well in the tournament. Herald of Perfection in the top 4, because all odds were against me winning, and I truly did think I was going to lose, but I never lost hope and did my best, and thankfully, it was enough!

Maxilicious:
Nice, people have been talking about your side deck. Quickdraw synchron for example, why did you choose that?

Galileo:
To be honest, I had never used the deck before! My first tournament with it was the world championship! I thought it was the deck that would give me the best chance to win, so I practiced for a few days on the best way to side deck and finally ended up with that. I took suggestions from Rodrigo Togores, Juan Pablo Vera and a few friends online and from home, and decided on what I thought was the best possible strategy. Quickdraw, extra fishborg, backed up by Royal Decrees. This would allow me to play around cards such as Mask of Restrict, Hanewata, which are commonly used vs Frog FTK. As you saw in the videos, my opponent always drew his anti-cards, such as D.D. Crow, Mask of Restrict, Royal Oppression, but I could play around them. Even if I didn’t have Cold Wave, it could have been Heavy Storm, or Giant Trunade, or Mystical Space Typhoon, or Royal Decrees. I didn’t leave anything to chance, and sided heavily vs what I thought would be sided against me. I actually prefer running the Synchro version, as in every round except for top8 and top4, I sided the synchro side, even for game 2 and 3, no matter if I went first or second. I only ftk’d 4 or 5 times during Day 1 and Day 2 combined. I’m such a conservative player, and dislike taking unnecessary risks.

Maxilicious:
That is very detailed explanation, an anti-anti-strategy which worked to your advantage. As you know, I’ve posted on my blog to enable readers to participate in this interview by posting the questions they wish to ask you. From Omar, how does it feel to represent Panama in the World Championship?

Galileo:
It was a great honour! To be the first Panamanian to ever attend was amazing, to be the first to ever win, was even more so.

Maxilicious:
He also asked, do you think Latin Americans are as good as the Japanese in YuGiOh?

Galileo:
Well, I would say the best Latin Americans are probably as good as the Japanese, however the styles differ a bit. Japenese are a bit more unorthodox to what we are used to, they are a lot more aggressive, while most of the top TCG players, I believe, are much more conservative. To quote a Japanese player: “Japanese Playstyle”, when I questioned him over a play he made. Every region has great players.

Maxilicious:
Good answer, a question from Jeremy (Singapore rep), before heading to semi-finals against your Perfect Declarer opponent, whom you had lost to in the Swiss rounds, are you worried that he will start the game first and take game 1 instantly with Perfect Declarer?

Galileo:
Of course, and that was pretty much what happened. Although he did not make Herald turn 1, a good read on Rageiki breaking my treeborn frog stopped me from pulling off the combo. He followed it up by top decking the card he needed to drop Herald and Krystia turn 2, from which there is no come back. It is definitely my worst match up. I considered running Herald, and I expected it to be a great choice, but decided against using it, and in the end, it worked out ok!

Maxilicious:
I see. From KlingeX, what deck do you plan to run after the September ban list?

Galileo:
It’s been a tough reality check after worlds, with university and work, so have been really busy and unable to pay as much attention to the ban list as I would have liked. I actually just won my local a few hours ago with a chaos deck, but there seems to be quite a few viable decks this format, Quickdraw, Frog Monarch, Gladiators, Blackwings, Machina/Gadget and Herald, just to name a few. It’s time for some good old fashioned testing to see what I like =) Oh yeah, just to clarify, we decided to play the new ban list a week earlier!

Maxilicious:
KlingeX also asked, how competitive is YuGiOh in Panama?

Galileo:
Very competitive is the answer! Last format, ended with a lot of X-Sabers, Infernities, Herald, Frog FTK, etc. And there are some very very good players here. We are a small country so we don’t receive as much attention, but hopefully me winning worlds will make people realize that it’s not all North America, Europe and Japan, there are really good players in other countries too!

Maxilicious:
Talking about the deck you may run in the future just now, Clarence asked that will you now use another new otk deck or change to a deck which has more interaction with the opponent?

Galileo:
This question made me laugh. “Interaction with  the opponent”. Very amusing! Anyone out there that knows me, knows how much I  hate FTK, but I would be foolish to not run what I think is the best deck, that would give me the best chance of winning the tournament. However, like I said, it’s the first time I ever played it. I always prefer skill based decks, which is a reason why I never ran Lightsworn, even when it was considered the top deck. Simply because I believed it relied too much on luck for it to be consistent through big events.

Maxilicious:
I have the same philosophy as you in that aspect. I never like OTK decks and prefer more control-based decks. Just now I’ve asked about competitiveness in Panama, Viktordub asked what do you think about the competition in Latino America?

Galileo:
It’s about the same as Panama, all over Latin America. When I played in Mexico, and Costa Rica, I’ve always done well, but it’s never easy!

Maxilicious:
I see, Akira asked a more technical question, despite running a combo deck, what prompted you to run with a deck size of 41?

Galileo:
Risk vs Reward. I expected a BW heavy meta, and a fair few GBs. I tend to not be so lucky with the die roll, and those decks have a good turn 1 opening that could stop me from ftk’ing. Any combination of Chariot/Book/Icarus/Oppression/etc could prove really hard to play around. It also, gave me 1 extra slot in the side deck, which I needed to have as I was already so short on space. As for the effect it had on the combo itself? Well it never really affected it at all, apart from game 1 in the final when I had so many live cards, and I drew Trunade + Heavy + can’t remember what else, but dead cards, which stopped me from FTK’ing. I could do 7600, but I  was a bit greedy and tried to FTK turn 1, which ultimately cost me the first game as I didn’t draw the salvage that I needed to win, despite drawing a fair few cards with Poison Draws, Moray, Hand Destructions, and having all 3 salvages left in deck. Or the obvious early Mass Driver, but by the time I drew it, I could no longer deal the 8000 in one turn, only 7600. Overall, I believe it was the right choice, and I was a bit unfortunate in game 1 of the final.

Maxilicious:
I see. Generally, a combo deck tries to stick to the minimum deck size which is 40 in order to have a higher chance to pull out the combo. He also asked, is the inclusion of Heavy storm worth the risk of the lowered probabilities of drawing combo pieces?

Galileo:
I think I pretty much answered that in my first statement. However, I think yes. The lowered probability on the combo, is practically insignificant, and the advantages in return, are quite huge. Remember, you don’t have to FTK to win. You can hide behind Dupe lock or something, to wait and draw into Heavy/Trunade to play around a huge opponent set up, and just basically, added more versatility to the deck. It was a risk I took, and a risk that paid off. So I’d say yes, definetly worth it. Although, it is actually the first time I’ve ever ran more than 40 cards at a major event. Thank god it didn’t backfire!

Maxilicious:
Haha, another popular question, from Mike, what do you think of the new ban list?

Galileo:
Generally it’s ok. I dislike the banning of Heavy Storm, the return of Monster Reborn and the limiting of Royal  Oppression. But besides that, I see nothing majorly wrong with the list. However, this is really with no basic testing, just an initial opinion. We will see how the format pans out =) Hope it’s a good one.

Maxilicious:
Now let’s step away from YuGiOh, do you play any other TCG?

Galileo:
Actually no. I’m not a big gamer, I’m more of a sports guy, I play a lot of basketball. I’m on a few teams, university, etc. However, I think YuGiOh is amazing, and I plan on trying out, maybe Magic: The Gathering? I’ve played a couple of games of that, and it seems pretty good!

Maxilicious:
A cute question from 9045d, can we call you toad sage like in Naruto?

Galileo:
I have no idea how to reply to that! Erm, I guess so? Being compared to Naruto..wow! Haha. You guys can just call me Galy though!

Maxilicious:
What are you studying in University?

Galileo:
Business!

Maxilicious:
Same as me. Do you have any words for you fans?

Galileo:
A huge shout out to everyone I know, and everyone I don’t know but supported me through the roller coaster ride that was the world championships! The YuGiOh communities in  Panama (Team Armageddon! and the rest!), USA/Canada/Costa Rica/Argentina/Chile/Peru/UK/Ireland/Rest of Europe/Mexico, and just everywhere else where I have some amazing friends! The biggest shout out to Nicole, who supported me way more than I could ever ask of anyone, and was always there for me!

Maxilicious:
One last question, how do you say “you’re the best duelist!” in Spanish?

Galileo:
Eres el mejor duelista!

Maxilicious:
Ok, thanks for the compliment, it’s an honor to receive it from the World Champion. =)

Galileo:
Hahhahahhahhaa =) No problem!

Maxilicious:
Once again, thank you for your time to do this interview. =)

Galileo:
It was my pleasure. Hope you guys enjoy reading it. I’m always available to help anyone, I believe the known players should always help out the newer players. If you want to get in touch with me,  feel free, contact Max and he can let  you know how to do so!

Written by Maxilicious

One comment

  1. nice galy…



Leave a Reply

