h1

Exclusive interview with World Champion 2009

August 9, 2010

I wanted to do something different from other blogs, and decided to do an exclusive interview with last year’s World Champion, Benjamin, before this year’s biggest tournament begins in Los Angeles next week.

I hope you enjoy it.

Maxilicious:
Thanks for doing an interview with me, let’s start with you introducing yourself.

Benjamin:
Name: Tan Hong Hwee Benjamin
Age: 17
Years of Experience : 7
Favourite Card : Blue Eyes-White Dragon & Solemn Judgement

Maxilicious:
I plan to ask “how long have you been playing yugioh?” and “what’s your favourite card?”
You read me =)

Benjamin:
lol Because that’s what the japanese guy asked me during an interview.

Maxilicious:
Exactly one year ago, you won the world championship 2009. What was on your mind at the very moment you won the last duel in the final?

Benjamin:
My personal feeling was like (I can’t believe it), I was determined to give my best in every duel and have no regrets no matter what the outcome of the duel was even though I lost game 1. After winning, I’m proud to say that Singapore has finally won a world championship.

Maxilicious:
Nice, and it’s on the national day of Singapore too.

Benjamin:
Yeah.

Maxilicious:
What was your most memorable match in last year’s road to be world champion? (please say it’s against me in last year’s national final >_<)

Benjamin:
lol. I’ll just take the matches from world finals. Let me think… A lot were very memorable.

Maxilicious:
Haha, name one?

Benjamin:
VS Roy St Clair, and of course the final.

Maxilicious:
I see, have you prepared your deck list for this year’s World Championship already?

Benjamin:
No. lol

Maxilicious:
Seems like you want to perfect every details. What is the biggest difference compared to last year in term of preparation?

Benjamin:
This year, it is so much more stressful because there are so many decks to choose from, it is nothing compared to last year as i already anticipated the 3 major decks, Gladiator Beast , Cat Synchro and Black Feather.

Maxilicious:
Indeed, this year’s metagame is more diversed. What do you think will be the common decks in this year’s world championship then?

Benjamin:
There are Black Feather , Frog FTK, Frog Monarch , Infernity , Gladiator Beast.

Maxilicious:
Some people said that OCG side has more advantage over the TCG side because TCG is used to X-sabers being in the metagame, whereby World Championship format is closer to OCG. What do you think?

Benjamin:
I believe that everyone stands an equal chance, be it TCG or OCG as you can see in the TCG Frog Monarchs are more dominant compared to the OCG where Black Feather and Machina are played more frequently. Based on the information, we can see that more of the OCG representatives and those that topped their nationals in OCG are usually the Black Feather whereas in the TCG it is the X-sabers, since TCG are used to playing Frog Monarch also they should have more experience in that factor.

Maxilicious:
With so much talk about X-saber, Frogs and Black Feather, what’s your prediction for the September ban list?

Benjamin:
I haven’t really given much thought about it, however I feel that (SUBSTITOAD) is a must RESTRICT card.

Maxilicious:
I hate frogs personally… What will you do if you make history to win the world championship again?

Benjamin:
That would be a 0.0001%. I doubt it would happen.

Maxilicious:
You never know =) Let’s talk about things outside YuGiOh. What do you do other than yugioh?

Benjamin:
My other hobbies include: Pool/Billiards , Basketball and playing the Piano. Dota too.

Maxilicious:
Oh, we still have unsettled score on the pool table. lol

Benjamin:
Ya , but you went back so fast.

(I flew from Singapore to Australia last month as my new University semester started in late July.)

Maxilicious:
The holiday was short, but i’ll be in Singapore end of this year. Make sure you train well… =p Have you been to the Disneyland?

Benjamin:
I think no.

Maxilicious:
This will be a first time then. (refer to my earlier post if you don’t know why I mention Disneyland)

Benjamin:
Should be a good exposure.

Maxilicious:
Do you’ve a girlfriend?

Benjamin:
Yup. I’ve never been single since 14. lol

Maxilicious:
Wow.. Is she against you playing YuGiOh?

Benjamin:
No, she is very supportive.

Maxilicious:
Jealous*

Benjamin:
lol

Maxilicious:
Last question, how often do you follow my blog?

Benjamin:
Maybe once every 8~9 days.

Maxilicious:
Not too bad, but that is still less than weekly! Any words for your fan?

Benjamin:
Winning is not everything, but determination and perserverance will get you further than you expect.

Maxilicious:
Alright, thank you for your time and good luck in LA.

Benjamin:
Thanks.

—————

And I hope that i can get this year’s World Champion to do an exclusive interview with me after the tournament.

P.S. I chose Blue eye ultimate dragon for the interview banner since Benjamin likes Blue eye white dragon.

Written by Maxilicious

Leave a Reply

