h1

‘Ethics’ of Trap dustshoot

July 16, 2010

This was brought up when i was with Bahamut (from dueling days) just now.

There were plays that revolved around this card, which i was joking about it being “the ethics of trap dustshoot”.

Although it’s a well-known card, but still let’s have a look at the card again.

Activate only when your opponent has 4 or more cards in their hand. Look at your opponent’s hand, select 1 Monster Card in it, and return that card to its owner’s Deck.

相手の手札が4枚以上の場合に発動する事ができる。相手の手札を確認してモンスターカード1枚を選択し、
そのカードを持ち主のデッキに戻す。

This is not a ruling article, so i will just skip the details. When you look at your opponent’s hand through Trap dustshoot, you select a monster card and return it to its owner’s deck. Simple.

It is very common that after a player selects a card in his opponent’s hand to return to its owner’s deck, he requests to have a look at his opponent’s hand again. Usually, he gets to view it again out of courtesy of his opponent. However, his opponent has the right to reject that, since after a card is selected and return to its owner’s deck, the effect is over.

Bahamut was saying he read from somewhere that this happened in a tournament and a judge allowed the player to view his opponent’s hand again. To prevent such situation, it is best to memorise the cards in opponent’s hand before you identify which card do you want to select, although you may have already made up your mind. Or you may write it on a piece of paper.

Another situation is when opponent has only one monster in his hand. He, being too helpful, chooses it for you and starts to shuffle it into his deck while he reveals his hand on the table. You don’t get to see what is that card that he shuffles back. He tells you what that card is but there is no way you can confirm it since it is in deck. He may even lie about it.

This is not exactly an ‘ethics’ issue but just a term i gave it just now.
Nevertheless, avoid such situations as much as possible.

P.S. Just in case not all of you can tell that recording your opponent’s hand on a piece of paper is just a joke, it’s a joke.

Advertisements

3 comments

  1. Cannot write on a piece of paper lah!

    That’s even more unethical lol!


  2. that was meant to be a joke. lol.


  3. Direct attack on Bahamut lol



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: