h1

Mind Crush (ruling)

July 7, 2010

This is a ruling that many don’t know, include myself before it was brought to my attention a few years ago by Jeremy.

It is not rare to see mind crush in a match, as it’s a side deck material card. Below is a common situation in a duel:

Player A: activates mind crush (named Dark armed dragon)
Player B: has Dark armed dragon in his hand and discard it, then show Player A his hand

It looks common, but is it necessary to for Player B to show his hand to Player A?

First let’s look at the effect of the card.

Declare 1 card name. If your opponent has the declared card(s) in their hand, discard all of the declared card(s) to the graveyard. Otherwise, you randomly discard 1 card.

カード名を1つ宣言する。相手は手札に宣言したカードを持っていた場合、そのカードを全て墓地へ捨てる。持っていなかった場合、自分はランダムに手札を1枚捨てる。

In the text, there is no mention regarding showing your hand to your opponent. By showing your hand to your opponent for mind crush is to ‘prove’ that you don’t have the named card in your hand when it is being named or don’t have the named card in your hand anymore after you discard it/them.

There are situations whereby you’ve already ‘proved’ that you don’t have the named card in your hand. The above scenario is a good example. Dark armed dragon is restricted to one, so by discarding that one copy is enough to prove you don’t have more copies in your hand. It is the same if the card is restricted to two, e.g. Judgement dragon, and you’ve one in your graveyard and one in your hand. You discard the one copy of Judgement dragon from your hand, and the total count of that card is ‘visible’ to your opponent. Hence, he/she can check that it is logically impossible to have more copies in your hand after your discard (one that was in grave and another that is now discarded – restricted to two). Therefore, you don’t have to show your hand to your opponent to ‘prove’ it.

However, if you have one Judgement dragon in your hand. After discarding it, the total count of Judgement dragon ‘visible’ to your opponent is just one, when it is restricted to two. Opponent has the right to confirm if you hide another copy in your hand.

——————–

Updated with the comment posted by Akira:
Source: Pojo

We have recently received a new ruling that says the following:

“If the maximum legally allowed number of copies of the declared card cannot be verified as public knowledge, you may ask your opponent to verify their hand.”

This cards should be shown quickly so as not to interrupt the flow of the duel and the opponent should never handle the cards. The intent of this ruling is to show that an effect has been successfully completed, not to reveal private information to an opponent or allow him to take extensive time strategizing over it.

In another words, you have to show your hand to your opponent but ‘quickly’ when it is possible to hide additional copy or copies of the named card in your hand. But I’m not sure how is that being done in an actual duel.

Key words:
– quickly
– not to interrupt the flow of the duel
– opponent should never handle the cards
– show that an effect has been successfully completed
not to reveal private information to an opponent or allow him to take extensive time strategizing over it

The player requires to show the hand to opponent yet ‘not to reveal private information to an opponent’, this seems contradicting to me. Because by flashing your hand to opponent fast enough that he can’t ‘read’ what are the cards in your hand, you still reveal private information of your hand to your opponent. Even if he can’t catch what are the cards in your hand, but still he can see the ‘colour’ in your hand. For example, he saw that your hand is consist of only green cards which indicates an ‘all spell hand’, hence no Battle fader for e.g. to stop him from doing an OTK.

In conclusion, you still have to show your hand to your opponent when the maximum legally allowed number of copies of the declared card cannot be verified as public knowledge.

Written by Maxilicious

Advertisements

3 comments

  1. A reply from KDE:
    http://www.pojo.biz/board/showpost.php?p=18063405&postcount=9


  2. Thanks for the update.
    (updated in post)


  3. […] can at least look at opponent’s hand and the advantage is outside basic card advantage. But you don’t exactly look at your opponent’s hand when Mind Crush resolves. There were times whereby my opponent just shows me his hand as if […]



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: